Attorney Jean-Claude Lapuyade

California’s new minimum wage went into effect on New Year’s Day

Employment law and potential violations committed by employers can be problematic for workers. With the ongoing health challenges impacting people across the nation and currently worsening in California, it is easy to forget that employers are still required to adhere to employment laws. That includes paying workers the minimum wage. In the state, the minimum wage increased on Jan. 1. Workers might not be cognizant of the new laws that have gone into effect. When employers fail to pay what they are legally obligated to or commit other employment law violations, it is important for employees to understand their rights and take steps to get what they are owed in payment and benefits.

What are the new minimum wage laws in California?

The current minimum wage in the state will depend on how many employees are in a workplace. For workplaces with at least 26 employees, the minimum wage has been increased to $14 per hour. If there are 25 or fewer employees, it is $13 per hour. This is part of an incremental increase in the minimum wage planned by the state. In 2022, it will rise to $15 and $14, respectively. In 2023, it will not matter how many employees are working at the job, the minimum wage will be $15 for all.

Employees who are unaware of how much they are supposed to be paid based on the law or are concerned that a complaint for being paid less than they are legally obliged to receive will lead to retaliation in the workplace must know that they are protected in that area as well. Employers are required to adhere to the law whether that is for wages, retaliation, harassment or any other workplace problem. There must be a poster that informs workers of their rights in the workplace. The wage rate must be on the workers’ pay stubs.

Seeking legal advice can help with getting owed wages

As the pandemic continues to be a challenge across the state, it is easy for workers to forget that they have the right to receive a certain amount in hourly wages based on the law. When this is not adhered to, employees must know the applicable steps to receive compensation. For this or any other issue with employment law including unpaid overtime, meal and rest violations, job misclassification or wrongful termination, a firm with experience in all areas of employment law may be able to help with a case and receiving just compensation. Calling for a consultation is a wise decision.