We all deserve to be paid fairly for our work. California law recognizes that all workers should receive a certain living wage and thus has minimum wage laws. It is important that workers understand these laws so they can take action if they believe their rights have been violated.
California’s minimum wage
With some exceptions, all workers in California must be paid at least the minimum wage as set by law. Starting January 1, 2017, the minimum wage for all industries will increase annually. As of January 1, 2021, the minimum wage for employers who have less than 26 employees is $13.00/hour and the minimum wage for employers who have 26 or more employees is $14.00/hour. Most employers are subject to both state and federal minimum wage laws, and cities and counties are also permitted to establish their own minimum wage rates. If there is a conflict of law, the employer must pay the highest minimum wage available.
Some exceptions to the minimum wage law
As with many laws, there are some exceptions to California’s minimum wage laws. They include:
- Parents, spouses and children of the employer
- Outside salespersons
- Apprentices indentured under the State Division of Apprenticeship Standards
- Learners, regardless of age
- Nonprofit organizations that employ disabled workers
Those who are left wondering if they fall under one of these exceptions are encouraged to seek legal advice.
Learn more about wage and hour claims in California
Everyone deserves to earn a decent living wage, thus the enactment of minimum wage laws. This post is for informational purposes only and does not contain legal advice. Those who believe they are being paid less than the minimum wage and who wish to pursue a wage and hour claim in California are encouraged to explore our firm’s website for further information.