Nearly every San Diego resident has had a job they didn’t like. Switching jobs is common and sometimes a person quits a job for another opportunity, or they are fired. If an employee is terminated, they may wonder when they will be receiving their last paycheck. There are laws that determine when an employer must pay their employee based on whether they were terminated or if they quit their job.
California Labor Code dictates when an employee will get paid
In California, according to the California Labor Code, if an employer fires or terminates an employee they must immediately pay the employee all unpaid wages. If an employee quits their job, then their employer must pay them wages owed within 72 hours. These time limits are strict and cannot be undermined by the employer’s usual payroll practices. An employer cannot wait until the next pay day to pay the employee. If an employer did not pay their employee all wages owed, they are liable for underpayment of wages and a penalty of up to 30 days wages.
An attorney can help an employee collect missing wages
If a person believes they did not receive the compensation they were entitled to, they may want to speak with an attorney who specializes in wage disputes. An attorney can help their client seek the wages they have earned and hold their employer responsible. They can conduct an intensive investigation into their client’s claim and understands how both state and federal labor laws can apply. An attorney is passionate about seeking justice for an employee and making sure companies abide by the law.