In California, if an employer fires or terminates an employee, the employer must immediately pay the employee all unpaid wages at the time. If an employee quits his or her employment, the employer shall pay the employee all unpaid wages with 72 hours. (Labor Code §§ 201-203, 1194.) These time limits are strictly construed and cannot be undercut by employer payroll practices or any industry habit or custom to the contrary. In other words, an employer cannot simply wait for the next regular payroll cycle to pay a discharged employee. An employer that does not pay its employees all unpaid wage when required is liable for both the underpayment of wages and, if the failure to pay is “willful,” a “waiting time” penalty of up to 30 days’ wages.
If you have recently been fired or quit from your job, and have not been paid all of your wages, call the experienced California labor and employment attorneys at the JCL Law Firm at 1-888-498-6999 for a free consultation.
Paid Rest Breaks for Car Salesman and Car Saleswomen? 10/16/2018
Didn’t Get Your Earned Break at Work? How We Can Help 6/28/2018
Not Paid Overtime? Why You Need an Attorney to Help 6/8/2018
Employers Must Pay Employees for “On Call” Rest Breaks 6/1/2018